Workforce Career & Education Outreach Pilot Program

Expose. Educate. Engage.


bringing awareness to career possibilities for students in grades 6-12 at 26 participating school districts


providing support and training for educators, administrators, and parents as they prepare students for their future careers


encouraging industry & communities to get involved in developing the talent pipeline of future employees

About the Pilot Program

The Workforce Solutions of West Central Texas Board received an $800,000 Workforce Career and Education Outreach Specialist Grant from the Texas Workforce Commission to launch a two-year pilot program in partnership with Region XIV Education Service Center and 26 participating school districts throughout the region. The program will expand student career services around the region, bringing awareness to high demand jobs and equipping middle and high school students with tools and information to prepare for their future careers. Workforce Specialist staff will also work closely with school district personnel, post-secondary training providers, employers, and community partners to enhance career education opportunities available to students.  This pilot program is anticipated to directly impact thousands of students throughout the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 school years.

Meet the Workforce Career & Education Outreach Team

Workforce Specialists staff members

Staff pictured from left:
Jennifer Walzel, Amy Hall, Leigh Petty, Jennifer Wilson, Amanda Elston, Amelia Reeves 

Region Map with Counties

Participating School Districts

Brown County: 

Bangs ISD, Brownwood ISD, Brookesmith ISD

Callahan County:  

Clyde ISD, Eula ISD

Coleman County:  

Coleman ISD

Comanche County:  

DeLeon ISD, Gustine ISD

Fisher County:  


Haskell County:  

Haskell CISD, Paint Creek ISD, Stamford ISD

Jones County:  

Lueders-Avoca ISD, Hamlin ISD

Mitchell County:  

Loraine ISD

Nolan County:  

Roscoe ISD

Scurry County:  

Ira ISD, Snyder ISD

Shackelford County:  

Albany ISD

Stephens County:  

Breckenridge ISD

Taylor County:  

Abilene ISD, Merkel ISD, Trent ISD, Wylie ISD

Throckmorton County:  

Throckmorton ISD

Want to know more? Contact our team!

Jennifer Walzel:
Leigh Petty:
Jennifer Wilson:
Amelia Reeves:
Amanda Elston:
Amy Hall:

Read the CEO Quarterly Update