Training Schedule 2018

Training is delivered over 9 months: every 3rd week of the month for 3 hours on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. Tuesday/Thursday classes are open to all CCS providers – 6:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. Saturday training sessions are designed specifically for those working toward Child Development Associate Credential – 9:00 a.m. to Noon.

Tuesday, January 23, 2018 Professionalism in the Early Childhood Setting
Thursday, January 25, 2018 – Do You Know the Code? (Early Childhood Code of Ethics)
Saturday, January 27, 2018  Introduction to CDA and Discuss Professional Portfolio

Tuesday, February 20, 2018 – Safety in the Early Childhood Setting
Thursday, February 22, 2018 – Healthy Children, Healthy Classroom
Saturday, February 24, 2018 CDA – Professional Portfolio, Philosophy Statement, Resources

Tuesday, March 20, 2018 – What’s My Job Responsibility? (Program Management)
Thursday, March 22, 2018 – My Place at Work and How I Affect the Ones Around Me
Saturday, March 24, 2018 CDA – Professional Portfolio

Tuesday, April 24, 2018 - Developmentally Appropriate Practices (DAP)
Thursday, April 26, 2018 - Learning Environments in the Early Childhood Classroom
Saturday, April 28, 2018 CDA – Professional Portfolio

Tuesday, May 15, 2018 – Observations/Assessments of the Children in Your Care
Thursday, May 17, 2018 – Developing Lesson Plans
Saturday, May 19, 2018 CDA – Professional Portfolio

Tuesday, June 19, 2018 – Enhancing Physical Development w/Developmentally Appropriate Activities
Thursday, June 21, 2018 – Enhancing Cognitive Development w/Developmentally Appropriate Activities
Saturday, June 23, 2018 CDA – Professional Portfolio

Tuesday, July 17, 2018 – How to Enhance Communication in the Early Childhood Setting
Thursday, July 19, 2018 – Helping Children Embrace Their Creativity
Saturday, July 21, 2018 CDA – Professional Development, Application Process, Choosing a Professional Development (PD) Specialist

Tuesday, August 21, 2018 – Helping Children Identify Who They Are
Thursday, August 23, 2018 – Enhancing Children’s Ability to Get Along with Others & Fit In
Saturday, August 25, 2018 CDA – Professional Portfolio, Application

Tuesday, September 18, 2018 – Positive Guidance vs. Punishment How are They Different?
Thursday, September 20, 2018 – Including Children’s Families in their Learning Experience
Saturday, September 22, 2018 CDA – Professional Portfolio, Scheduling Test Date and Verification Visit